Thoughts on approaching sixty

It’s interesting the things I have been thinking about as I approach sixty. I always thought I would be able to retire at sixty. Now suddenly I have to work another seven years before I can get a pension. People are living longer, I’m told.

Sure, there are more older people now than when I was young, but there are fewer children and far fewer stay at home wives. I would be prepared to bet that there are more people in the workforce as a proportion to the total population than ever before. And this does not take into account the improvements in technology that we are constantly being told threaten to put us out of a job.

I could understand the need to work longer if we were even close to full employment. We’re not. Unemployment is high and youth unemployment is way too high.

How will it help the economy if I work an extra seven years and a young person never gets a job at all?

Leave a Reply

